Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Depleted Uranium shells?
2017-05-20, 03:00 AM (This post was last modified: 2017-05-20 03:02 AM by volcano_sushi.)
Depleted Uranium shells?
Im not an expert on this trash, i just watched a video on it and thought it looked cool. Depleted Uranium shells are sabot shells made of uranium 238, making it exceptionally dense and great for penetrating armor. I also read that when it enters a tank, fragments of the rod shoot off of it; and on impact shred off millions of radioactive particles around the area. Read up on it so it makes sense.

The way i see this working in FtD is like a very expensive and effective sabot round. Like the regular sabot costs almost nothing and has a base armor pen of 35(?) and very little kinetic energy. On the other hand, the Du shell might cost like 1k resource or something a shot (as a base, could be more or less depending on size) and have an armor pen of 70 to 100 and a moderate kinetic yield. If you want to make it fancy, make a mini-explosion on contact and frag when it enters a spacious part of the vehicle, but thats a bit overkill, even though they do that (?) irl.

Hopefully the FtD team sees this and might actually consider it, or not idc. It just sounded cool so i have next to no idea what im talking about
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-05-20, 03:55 AM
RE: Depleted Uranium shells?
I don't see any point. Stuff like that invariably either ends up being always used because it's better, or never used because it's too expensive.
2017-05-20, 12:10 PM
(2017-05-20 03:55 AM)Unhinged mechanic Wrote:  I don't see any point. Stuff like that invariably either ends up being always used because it's better, or never used because it's too expensive.