Thread Rating:
  • 11 Votes - 5 Average
Flamethrower concept
2015-10-28, 07:52 PM
Flamethrower concept
I have created a concept of how flame-throwers could work/operate once implemented in the game. I've seen many people posting about wanting flame-throwers, but none regards to how they could work.

A few notes to bear in mind before criticism:

-->Flamers have high damage, but are short range so you must get in close to use them.
-->When I mention muzzle velocity it is because flames are affected by gravity and so the maximum range depends on this speed. If affected by drag, this would seriously decrease the range.
--> This is my first attempt. Anything which seems too weak/OP can be buffed/nerfed and I can work on the formulas.

[Image: fromthedepthsconcept_flamethrowers.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2015-10-28, 08:01 PM
RE: Flamethrower concept
Thats.... realy well thought out... I like it

[Image: BseTIqf.png?1]
2015-10-29, 10:29 AM
Thanks Smile
2015-10-29, 12:11 PM
There should probably also be an optional nozzle mount or 'Motor Nozzle' piece that allows the nozzle to aim up to 22.5 degrees on it's own, otherwise long range versions would be difficult to use.

My Builds
2015-10-29, 02:58 PM
I don't think drag would make any major difference since they'd have a range around the ballpark of 100m. But wind could make this weapon intresting and more dangerus for both your enemy and yourself, you wouldn't fire a flamethrower against the wind for the same reason you wouldn't piss against the wind.
2015-10-31, 11:44 PM
(2015-10-29 02:58 PM)ante185 Wrote:  I don't think drag would make any major difference since they'd have a range around the ballpark of 100m. But wind could make this weapon intresting and more dangerus for both your enemy and yourself, you wouldn't fire a flamethrower against the wind for the same reason you wouldn't piss against the wind.