From The Depths - Forum

Full Version: Steam engines: initial research
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
So I started playing with steam engines, and they seem... incomplete.

So far I've tested only turbines, and they produce as much power as there is steam produced. In other words, turbine size doesn't matter at all! Only things that does, is boiler size (and there is no reason to set controler to anything other than 1.0).

So quick formula for the most cost|volue|weight efficient steam turbine is:
as much boilers as possible, 1 pipe section, 1 boiler controller, 1 compact turbine, 1 small generator.

Fuel efficiency is constant=20 energy per material. So comparable to 200PPF, unless you have some more efficient refinery.

Also, steam engine gives the highest PPV and PPC in game. PPV at 30minutes is 194, while fuel engines go as high as 28.3

So the only drawback is the ramp up time, which is quite slow.
Hot diggity Lamb someone please refit the Meteor with steam engines lol. Would it be possible to push out 180k engine power out of the Meteor's internals with steam engines alone if all 10fuel injected engines and all the 200+ 3x3 fuel tanks were removed in their place? If you see the Meteor's thread in SD you will be able to look at screenshots of the internals so you can give yourself an idea. I can't do that myself since I'm away from home, I am currently very ignorant about steam engines but also because my laptop had a broken fan Q_Q

P.S. Thank you for this very crucial information! You're the best!
Some further calculations regarding steam turbines. I forgot that they produce battery charge, not torque (engine power). Thus if we add necessary electric engines and batteries, they become shitty.
But if you need battery charge (i.e. for laser shields or railgun) then they are still best bet for you.

To do: